Author Topic: Storm SW of Wagga Wagga 9/01/11  (Read 6178 times)

Offline Greg Gibbs

• Rope Tornado F0
Storm SW of Wagga Wagga 9/01/11
« on: 14 January 2011, 05:47:12 AM »
Hello,
Wondering if anyone has any thoughts on the formation to the left of the main storm in the attached picture.  I am new to the chasing game and would value any thoughts.  Picture was taken to the west of the township of The Rock and is looking towards the WNW with the storm travelling SSW.  It appeared to be all the way down to the ground, but by the time I had pulled over and run through a line of trees to get a clear shot it was ascending up into the main cloud.  30 seconds later it was gone.  At the time I was asking myself "did I just see the end of a tornado?"  Picture was taken with a wide angle lens (didn't have time to change it to zoom into the feature) at a focal length of 16mm.

Cheers.

Offline Michael Bath

• storm chaser
  • Administrator
  • Wedge tornado F5
    • Australian Severe Weather
Re: Storm SW of Wagga Wagga 9/01/11
« Reply #1 on: 14 January 2011, 10:16:48 AM »
Hi Greg,

Here's a radar loop at the time. It's a bit far out from the radar to show too much on the Doppler images, though if you look closely WNW of The Rock at 5.12 and 5.22pm there could be some evidence of rotation.

http://www.theweatherchaser.com/radar-loop/IDR493-yarrawonga/2011-01-09-04/2011-01-09-08

Are you able to do a 100% crop of the funnel feature ?
Australian Severe Weather:   http://australiasevereweather.com/
Lightning Photography:   http://www.lightningphotography.com/
Early Warning Network: http://www.ewn.com.au

Offline Greg Gibbs

• Rope Tornado F0
« Reply #2 on: 14 January 2011, 01:46:39 PM »
Hi Michael,

Thanks for looking up the radar sequence.

Here is the 100% crop as requested:

Cheers

Offline Lightning Chaser

• Rope Tornado F0
« Reply #3 on: 14 January 2011, 03:35:37 PM »