Author Topic: Advice for a Newbie  (Read 3197 times)

striker92

Advice for a Newbie
« on: 03 March 2007, 03:52:47 PM »
Hi guys, as u can probably see from my status and my technical no how I'm relatively new to storm chasing, severe storms, structure and all the technical stuff that goes with it.
Any advice or guides that you can give me to go about finding storms, interpreting the various statistics and numbers that relate to CAPE windshear and the like would be greatly appreciated.
tyvm guys.
i just no that I'm gonna learn heaps from here from what Ive heard, its great to have a resource where i can access the experience of Jimmy Deguara, Michael Bath and all the other experienced storm chasers out there, keep up the good work.
Remember i want to learn as much as i can so feel free to post any information interesting facts and pretty much anything that will further my knowledge of storm chasing, how storms work and how to interpret what they tell us.
Cheers Mark
« Last Edit: 15 March 2007, 12:31:08 PM by Jimmy Deguara »

Offline Mike

• Australian Severe Weather Moderators
  • Wedge tornado F5
  • Dry season here...boring!
    • http://StormscapesDarwin.com
Re: Advice for a Newbie
« Reply #1 on: 15 March 2007, 06:10:09 AM »
Hello Mark.

There are a lot more people on the forum that are knowledgeable as opposed to from those mentioned (no offence guys! just being fair!).

If you want to learn then you've come to the right place.  You can look on this forum site in the index for Jimmy's articles on cloud observation/techniques and also thunderstorm observation.

There are several sources of satellite pictures and weather charts and soundings

The Thunderstorm forecasting guide also has a vast array of info you can look at and make up a technical binder for yourself to study.  They have everything on there, even how to interpret Skew-Ts.