Author Topic: Acknowledging tornadoes in Australia by Local Authorities  (Read 3971 times)

Offline Colin Maitland

• Barrel tornado F4
Acknowledging tornadoes in Australia by Local Authorities
« on: 04 January 2009, 04:36:11 AM »
Since I was a kid growing up in Brisbane I was fascinated by the tornadoes that hit various parts and surrounding country. When I left school I worked in Ipswich for 18 months and witnessed some of the most devastating storms of 1985 and on. (Including tornadoes). Unfortunately I never carried a camera to photo these storms. Right up to know we have been hit by several tornadoes, but everyone I speak to seems to think that we do not get tornadoes in Australia.

I watched a documentary some years ago that proved that 10 % of the worlds tornadoes happen here in Queensland, yet the majority of the population are oblivious to the fact.

The local authorities do not want to admit that we do. I am a builder and I feel that the problem is they may not want to accept responsibility that they have known these facts and have not acted upon them. Most of our houses are not designed to take the impact of these storms. We do not build our houses with storms shelters ( although the house I built in Bray Park had the linen room designed as a storm shelter.) In a America they are designing there houses to take the impact of some of the lower graded Tornadoes, but so far in Queensland especially, ( Cyclones and storms,) we have done little. Our tie down methods if studied correctly would prove insufficient. There is talk that they may now, after the tornadoes that hit in November/ December, around The Gap and surrounding suburbs, ( I know everyone is saying it was a microburst)  look at changing our building code.

The big question is, how do we educate the public and prove to the Authorities the need for change? The storms are only going to get worst with the changing climate. How much evidence is needed?